If you’re heading out for a vacation in Destin or on State Road 30A in Walton County Florida, and have already thought through all the perks of renting a street-legal golf cart to make your stay more convenient and comfortable, you may now be thinking through the logistics of your stay. If you’ve got teenagers in your family or visiting during your stay, can they take the golf cart and head to the beach on their own? Who can legally drive a street-legal golf cart?
According to Florida Statute 316.2122, “Any person operating a low-speed vehicle or mini truck must have in his or her possession a valid driver license.”
Florida law says that anyone with a valid driver’s license is allowed to operate a “low-speed vehicle,” which is the technical terminology that distinguishes a typical golf cart from a street-legal one. The differences between a regular golf cart and a street-legal golf cart have to do with the equipment that makes it safe for the road such as parking brakes, headlamps, and turn signals. Essentially, street-legal golf carts have been equipped with all of the necessary parts to make sure they can follow the rules of the road.
According to the law, then, people as young as 16 who hold a valid license can drive a street-legal golf cart. However, it gets a little more complicated if you will be renting your golf cart for the duration of your stay. Rental companies are obligated to follow restrictions related to the insurance they carry. Most insurance companies will not allow a 16-year-old to drive the vehicle. To drive our golf carts, all drivers must be 21 years old and possess a current drivers license.
Don’t let this fact discourage you from your rental! If you’ve got teens staying with you who need a lift to the beach, a golf cart piloted by an adult can be a quick way to drop them off without having to take a long walk in the heat and sun.
With all of the options you’ll have of places to visit, eat, dance, and relax, you won’t want your golf cart getting too far away from you anyway!